List of Persian/Iranian Events for 2005-03-20

    Norooooooz - First Day of Spring

    Sunday - March 20, 2005     04:00 AM

    Norouz - Noruz - Nowruz - Noroz - Norooz - Norowz - Nuruz
    {However you spell it, it still comes out to be the same day - The Best Day!}

    Norouz 2564 (1384) begins at: 12:34 UTC time
    04:04 PM Tehran time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    12:34 PM London time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    01:34 PM Paris - Frankfurt - Rome time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    09:34 PM Tokyo - Seoul time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    11:34 PM Australia/Newzeland time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    02:34 AM Honolulu time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    04:34 AM LA - San Fran - Seattle - Vancouver time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    06:34 AM Chicago time on Sunday March 20, 2005
    07:34 AM New York - Montreal time on Sunday March 20, 2005

    Norouz in Strasbourg

    Europe - France Sunday - March 20, 2005     12:00 PM

    Norouz Lunch of Association franco iranienne d'Alsace
    Sunday March 20, 12 AM
    Résidance des Arts
    13a rue Hohwald
    Strasbourg / FRANCE
    Contact: 03 88 19 92 54 / afi.alsace@laposte.net

    NY Persian Parade 2005

    New York Sunday - March 20, 2005     12:00 PM

    2nd persian parrade will be held this year on Sunday March 20th, 2005 from 12pm to 6pm . Place of gathering is Madison Ave. and 41st Street.
    From: Dr. Zohreh Rasouli (zrasouli@aol.com)

    Perian Parade 2005

    New York Sunday - March 20, 2005     12:00 PM

    The second Persian Parade Day, expected to draw tens of thousands of participants and spectators will be held in New York City in commemoration of the Nowruz, the Persian New Year, along Madison Avenue at 41stStreet on Sunday March 20, 2005. Due to the event’s overwhelming success last year, the Persian Parade is sponsored in part by the non-profit public Persian-Iranian Parade Foundation. The Parade will once again provide the opportunity to display the immense contributions made by the Iranian American Community in North America. The parade not only exhibits their historical and cultural heritage, but will also proudly celebrates with much pride the contemporary contributions made by the peoples of Iranian ancestry towards the betterment of the quality of life in the U.S. and Canada, and entire world. The parade is celebrated in the context of Nowruz, the commemoration of rejuvenation of life.

    The event is anticipated to attract immense Community enthusiasm across the continent, especially in the four Northeastern States of CT, NJ, NY, and PA. The event features astatically designed floats, musical and marching bands, dance groups, DJs, cultural and archaeological icons, folk songs, theatrical performances, as well as the participation of professional and religious associations which will fully participate.

    An annual event of such merit and scope can only be institutionalized through the generous financial contributions of benefactors and philanthropists including the founding members, the gracious sponsorship by the businesses and unique cultural, professional and religious centers, and substantive input by a cadre of volunteers that truly represent our colorful spectrum.

    At this time, the Organizing Committee, comprised of professionals who have committed their own resources to this noble cause, is most urgently seeking the endorsement, sponsorship and full fledged participations of Iranian-American Organizations, Mass Media and Institutions from ALL walks of life, including religions, ethnicities, and cultural diversities. Individuals and groups with talents illustrating the rich Persian heritage and/or its diverse folk cultures, and volunteers who will serve on various committees especially on the day of the parade, and benefactors who will contribute toward the success of the event, are particularly encouraged to contact the Organizing Committee by calling 1-888-PARADE9 or via email info@persianparade.org . Please visit the Parade website at www.persianparade.org for upcoming information and feedback. Your favorable consideration while serving as the steward of this one of a kind Community event is sought and gratefully appreciated. When successfully implemented, this would once again demonstrate the true unified image and stellar contributions of our Community to the American public and set a new legendary milestone for the future to be reckoned with. Please consider this as your own Parade by feeling entitled and empowered to fully join in.

    For the Parade Steering Committee,

    Dr. & Mrs. Nahid & Shahrokh AHKAMI, M.D.

    Drs. Mahshid Arafania ASSADI, M.D. & Cyrus ASSADI, M.D.

    Dr. & Mrs. Nina & Zia GHAVAMI, M.D.

    From: Persian Parade (info@persianparade.org)

    Persian New Year Festival

    Texas - Houston Sunday - March 20, 2005     01:00 PM

    Sunday, March 20,2005
    1-9 pm
    Jones Plaza, Downtown, Houston
    15$adults
    5$ children
    713-213-4500

    NOROUZ 2005

    Bay Area Sunday - March 20, 2005     06:30 PM

    Persian Center proudly presents: "NOROUZ 2005"


    When: Mar 20th,2005 6:30 pm
    Where: THE RITZ Hotel in San Francisco

    For tickets or more info, please call 510-848-0264

    Masters of Prsian Music

    Chicago Sunday - March 20, 2005     07:30 PM

    Masters of Persian Classical Music Concert
    Following two prior sold-out engagements, three of Iran's finest musical virtuosos return to once again showcase the rich heritage of Persian classical music and ancient Sufi and contemporary poetry.

    Master Shajarian (Vocal), Master Alizadeh (Tar), Kayhan Kalhor (Kamancheh), and Homayon Shajarian (Vocal & Tombak

    When: March 20, 2005 7:30 pm
    Where: Symphony Center
    220 S. Michigan Ave MAP
    Tickets and Info: 1-888-294-3550

    "Masters of Persian Music"

    Illinois Sunday - March 20, 2005     07:30 PM

    "Masters of Persian Music"
    Mohammad Reza Shajarian and Kayhan Kalhor

    Sunday, March 20, 2005
    220 South Michigan Avenue,
    Chicago IL 60604


    Masters of Persian Classical Music
    Mohammad Reza Shajarian, Hossein Alizadeh, Kayhan Kalhor, Homayoun Shajarian

    North American Tour
    February/March 2005
    worldmusicinstitute.org

    This program features three of the most important figures in classical Persian music who will be touring together again after their last two sold-out North American tours: Iran's great vocalist Mohammad Reza Shajarian; tar (long-necked lute) maestro Hossein Alizadeh; and Kayhan Kalhor, a virtuoso of the kamancheh (spike-fiddle). They will be accompanied by Shajarian's son, Homayoun Shajarian (tombak - goblet drum, vocals), who has was hailed by the press for his vocal technique. Their program features all new works drawing on the rich heritage of Persian classical music and ancient Sufi and contemporary poetry. This tour also celebrates the release of their third cd "Faryad" on the World Village label. Their last cd, "Without You," was nominated for a Grammy.

    "Stunning."
    -- Los Angeles Times

    "It is almost impossible to translate the significance of the tour."
    -- Sunday Boston Globe

    "Shajarian is a superstar, the Pavarotti of Persian classical music."
    -- Toronto Globe & Mail

    "They were hailed with three standing ovations-one before they'd performed a note."
    -- Washington Post

    To view other cities Concerts please visit:

    http://www.iranian.com/Event/2004/October/Masters/index.html
About 7rooz
7rooz Services
Other Stuff
Copyright © 2002-2020 7rooz.com